You can use a UK GHIC, UK EHIC or existing EHIC while visiting:

For Montenegro, Saint Helena, Ascension Island or Tristan da Cunha, this only applies to the UK GHIC. The UK EHIC does not cover these countries.

French Overseas Territories

These French territories will also accept UK GHIC and UK EHIC:

  • Martinique
  • Mayotte
  • Guadeloupe
  • Reunion
  • French Guiana
  • Saint-Martin
  • Corsica

Read information on how to access healthcare in these counties on GOV.UK.

A UK GHIC may become valid in more countries in the future.

If you’re a UK resident, you’re automatically entitled to state healthcare in the Republic of Ireland on the same basis as an Irish citizen. You can show the treatment facility proof of your residency such as a driving licence or passport.

UK GHIC and EHIC cards are not a replacement for private travel insurance.

Crown dependencies

Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man are not part of the UK.

A UK GHIC or UK EHIC cannot be used when visiting.

If you ordinarily live there, you're not entitled to a UK GHIC or UK EHIC.

Comments (0)